It’s important to be listed on Google’s first result page for the keywords and keyword phrase you want to be found for. If people cannot find your website in the search results, then it’s highly unlikely they won’t visit your website. But how important exactly is it to be listed on Google’s first results page and what’s the value to your business?
A recent study by Ignite Visibility, a premier Internet marketing company based in San Diego in the USA shows the click-through-rates in 2017 by search engine position.
The first result gets 44.64% of the clicks and generally, the findings show higher ranking pages in Google have higher click-through-rates because people don’t want to scroll endlessly through the search engine. However, interestingly, position #10 on Google Page #1 gets more clicks than position #6!
Click-Through Rate % in 2017 By Position:
- Position 1 – 44.64%
- Position 2 – 28.92%
- Position 3 – 28.52%
- Position 4 – 19.50%
- Position 5 – 20%
- Position 6 – 14.62%
- Position 7 – 16.53%
- Position 8 – 15.02%
- Position 9 – 12%
- Position 10 – 17.26%
As we can see there is a clear correlation between ranking position and click-through rates in Google.
What’s the value of high Google rankings for your business?
Having top 10 rankings is great but are the results really worth the time and effort? Here’s a very simple hypothetical example:
Say you run an ad on Google AdWords for a particular keyword that gets 1,000 impressions during a week. 20 visitors click the ad to visit your website.
Of these 20 visitors, let’s say 6 of these visitors purchase something or take on your services and the total profit is $50.
The keyword delivers 20 visitors and 6 buyers to your website. The total profit is $50. That means that the average single visitor who finds your website through that keyword is worth $2.50 to your business (20 visitors created a profit of $50: $50/20 visitors = $2.50/visitor).
In this simple example, 1,000 people search for the keyword every week. If your website was listed as the first result for the keyword, you would get 446 visitors per week (44.64% of all clicks go to the top ranked page, as explained above, this example assumes that all searchers click a listing in the results).
As the average visitors adds $2.50 to your profits (see above) you would earn $2.50 x 446 visitors = $1,115.00 per week with just one top ranking!
Can you afford not to have your website search engine optimised?